Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – December 5th‏


1984 – Antonio Inoki & Tatsumi Fujinami win the NJPW MSG Tag League, defeating Adrian Adonis & Dick Murdoch in the final

1997 – Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League, defeating Jun Akiyama & Mitsuharu Misawa in the ‘final’ after both teams finished on 15 points

1998 – Stan Hansen & Vader win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League

2005 – The Dudleys (Bubba Ray & D-Von) win the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League, defeating Akebono & Keiji Mutoh in the final


In 2004, TNA Turning Point, held in Orlando, Florida, was only TNA’s second monthly PPV

– Team Canada (Eric Young & Bobby Roode) defeat 3 Live Kru (BG James & Ron Killings) to win the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– Monty Brown defeats Abyss in a Serengeti Survival Match
– Petey Williams defeats Chris Sabin to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– AJ Styles, Jeff Hardy & randy Savage defeat The Kings of Wrestling (Jeff Jarrett, Kevin Nash & Scott Hall)
– America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm) defeat Triple X (Christopher Daniels & Elix Skipper) in a Six Sides Of Steel Match, forcing Triple X to disband

In 2010, TNA Final Resolution was also held in Orlando, Florida

– Tara defeats Mickie James in a Falls Count Anywhere Match
– Robbie E defeats Jay Lethal by DQ to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Douglas Williams defeats AJ Styles to win the TNA Television Title
– The Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin) defeat Generation Me (Max & Jeremy Buck) in a Full Metal Mayhem Match to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Abyss defeats D’Angelo Dinero in a Casket Match
– Jeff Jarrett defeats Samoa Joe in a Submission Match
– Jeff Hardy defeats Matt Morgan in a No-DQ Match with Mr Anderson as special guest referee to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1983 – Brian Adias defeats Super Destroyer 1 to win the WCCW Television Title

1984 – Brad Armstrong defeats Ernie Ladd to win the MSW North American Title

1997 – Doug Furnas & Phil LaFon defeat The Full Blooded Italians to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

2010 – Kotaro Suzuki defeats Yoshinobu Kanemaru to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title

2010 – El Zorro defeats Dr Wagner Jr to win the AAA Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to 2-time AWA World Champion Larry Zbyszko (60), former NWA star Adrian Street (71) and one-time WWF and AJPW Tag Team Champion The Dynamite Kid (53)

Also, today would have been the birthday of one-time WWWF United States Tag Team Champion Chris Tolos (82)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Loading ... Loading ...

Should Lisa Marie Varon be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...

Which roster should John Cena be on after the draft?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...