This Day In Wrestling History – November 24th‏

Nov 24, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1983, the first NWA Starrcade, subtitled ‘A Flair for the Gold’ was held in Greensboro, North Carolina. It was created and promoted by Jim Crockett & Dusty Rhodes in response to the rapid growth and expansion of the WWF. It aired on Closed Circuit TV in much of the Southern USA

– Abdullah The Butcher defeats Carlos Colon
– Charlie Brown defeats The Great Kabuki in a Title vs Mask Match to win the NWA Television Title
– Roddy Piper defeats Greg Valentine in a Dog Collar Match
– Ricky Steamboat & Jay Youngblood defeat Jack & Jerry Brisco with Angelo Mosca as special guest referee to win the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– Ric Flair defeats Harley Race in a Cage Match with Gene Kiniski as special guest referee to win the NWA World Title

In 1988, WWF Survivor Series was held in Richfield, Ohio

– Andre The Giant, Rick Rude, Dino Bravo, Mr Perfect & Harley Race defeat Jim Duggan, Jake Roberts, Scott Casey, Ken Patera and Tito Santana in a Survivor Series Match with Perfect & Bravo surviving
– Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Hercules, Koko B Ware & Hillbilly Jim defeat Akeem, The Big Boss Man, Ted DiBiase, Haku and The Red Rooster in a Survivor Series Match with Hogan & Savage surviving

In 1993, WWF Survivor Series was held in Boston, Massachusetts

– The Hart Family (Bret, Owen, Bruce and Keith) defeat Shawn Michaels & His Knights (The Red Knight (Barry Horowitz), The Blue Knight (Greg Valentine) and The Black Knight (Jeff Gaylord)) in a Survivor Series Match with Bret, Bruce & Keith surviving
– The Heavenly Bodies (Jimmy Del Ray & Tom Prichard) defeat The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) to win the SMW Tag Team Titles
– The All-Americans (Lex Luger, The Undertaker, Rick Steiner & Scott Steiner) defeat The Foreign Fanatics (Yokozuna, Crush, Ludvig Borga & Quebecer Jacques) in a Survivor Series Match with Luger as the lone survivor

In 1996, WCW World War 3 was held in Norfolk, Virginia

– The Ultimate Dragon defeats Rey Misterio Jr to retain the J-Crown Championship
– Chris Jericho defeats Nick Patrick. Jericho had one arm tied behind his back for the duration of the match
– Dean Malenko defeats Psychosis to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) defeat The Faces Of Fear (Meng & The Barbarian) & The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) in a Triangle Match to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– The Giant wins the World War 3 Battle Royal, last eliminating Lex Luger

Title Changes

1965 – Giant Baba defeats Dick The Bruiser to win the vacant NWA International Heavyweight Title

1979 – The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy & Michael Hayes) defeat Bill Watts & Buck Robley to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1980 – Ric Flair defeats Greg Valentine to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title. This change is not recognized by current WWE Title Histories

1983 – Chris Adams defeats Jimmy Garvin to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1988 – Jeff Jarrett defeats Eric Embry to win the WCCW World Light Heavyweight Title

1997 – on Raw, The New Age Outlaws (Billy Gunn & Road Dogg) defeat The Legion of Doom (Hawk & Animal) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2007 – Naruki Doi & Masato Yoshino defeat Ricky Marvin & Kotaro Suzuki to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to current WWE Divas Champion Beth Phoenix (31)

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply