Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – November 22nd‏

As you’ll see from this column, I’ve added ROH PPVs to the report list. As always, I welcome any requests or feedback


In 1984, NWA Starrcade: The Million Dollar Challenge was promoted by JCP and held in Greensboro, North Carolina

– Denny Brown defeats Mike Davis to win the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title
– Jesse Barr defeats Mike Graham to retain the NWA Florida Title
– Manny Fernandez defeats Black Bart to win the Brass Knuckles Heavyweight Title
– Paul Jones defeats Jimmy Valiant in a Tuxedo Street Fight Loser Leaves Town Match
– Ron Bass defeats Dick Slater by DQ to retain the NWA Mid-Atlantic Title
– Tully Blanchard defeats Ricky Steamboat to retain the NWA Television Title and win $10,000
– Wahoo McDaniel defeats Billy Graham to retain the NWA United States Title
– Ric Flair defeats Dusty Rhodes with Joe Frazier as special guest referee to retain the NWA World Title and win $1,000,000

In 1990, WWF Survivor Series. This event featured the debuts of The Undertaker and The Gobbledy Gooker. The event featured five 4-on-4 Survivor Series Matches, with the survivors progressing to the main event.

– The Warriors (The Ultimate Warrior, The Legion Of Doom (Hawk & Animal) & The Texas Tornado) defeat The Perfect Team (Mr Perfect & Demolition (Ax, Smash & Crush)) with Warrior as the lone survivor
– The Million Dollar Team (Ted DiBiase, The Undertaker, The Honky Tonk Man & Greg Valentine) defeat The Dream Team (Dusty Rhodes, Koko B Ware, Bret Hart & Jim Neidhart) with DiBiase as the lone survivor
– The Visionaries (Rick Martel, The Warlord, Hercules & Paul Roma) defeat The Vipers (Jake Roberts, Jimmy Snuka, Shawn Michaels & Marty Jannetty) with all The Visionaries surviving
– The Hulkamaniacs (Hulk Hogan, Jim Duggan, The Big Boss Man & Tugboat) defeat The Natural Disasters (Earthquake, Haku, Dino Bravo & The Barbarian) with Hogan as the lone survivor
– The Alliance (Nikolai Volkoff, Tito Santana & The Bushwhackers (Luke & Butch)) defeat The Mercenaries (Sgt Slaughter, Boris Zhukov & The Orient Express (Sato & Tanaka)) with Santana as the lone survivor
– Hulk Hogan, The Ultimate Warrior & Tito Santana defeat Ted DiBiase, The Warlord, Rick Martel, Hercules & Paul Roma with Hogan & Warrior surviving

In 1998, the final WCW World War 3 was held in Auburn Hills, Michigan

– Billy Kidman defeats Juventud Guerrera to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Chris Jericho defeats Bobby Duncum Jr to retain the WCW Television Title
– Kevin Nash wins the World War 3 Battle Royal, last eliminating Scott Hall & Lex Luger at the same time
– Diamond Dallas Page defeats Bret Hart to retain the WCW United States Title

In 2008, ROH Rising Above was held in Chicago Ridge, Illinois

– Kevin Steen & El Generico defeat The Briscoe Brothers (Jay & Mark) to retain the ROH Tag Team Titles
– MsChif defeats Sara Del Ray to retain the Shimmer Title
– Sweet n Sour Inc (Chris Hero, Go Shiozaki & Davey Richards) defeat Roderick Strong, Brent Albright & Ace Steel in a Six Man War
– Austin Aries defeats Jimmy Jacobs in an I Quit Match
– Nigel McGuinness defeats Bryan Danielson to retain the ROH World Title

In 2009, WWE Survivor Series was held in Washington DC

– Batista defeats Rey Mysterio
– The Undertaker defeats The Big Show & Chris Jericho in a Triple Threat Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– John Cena defeats Triple H & Shawn Michaels in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1992 – Ultimo Dragon defeats El Samurai to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title. Also, Scott Norton & Tony Halme defeat The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1993 – Jeff Jarrett wins a Battle Royal to win the vacant USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1999 – on Nitro, Creative Control (Gerald & Patrick) defeat Billy Kidman & Konnan to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

2005 – on Smackdown, Juventud defeats Nunzio to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title

2010 – on Raw, The Miz cashes in his Money In The Bank and defeats Randy Orton to win the WWE Title


Happy birthday to former WWF and WCW writer/announcer Ed Ferrara (45) and one-time WCW Tag Team Champion Lash LeRoux, also remembered as Corporal Cajun (35)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Loading ... Loading ...

Should Lisa Marie Varon be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...

Which roster should John Cena be on after the draft?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...