This Day In Wrestling History – November 21st‏

Nov 21, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1988 – Ted Turner buys out Jim Crockett, creating the WCW promotion


In 1999, WCW Mayhem: Tournament of Champions was held in Toronto, Canada, thus becoming the first WCW PPV to be held north of the border

– Evan Karagias defeats Disco Inferno to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Norman Smiley defeats Brian Knobbs in the final of the Hardcore Championship Tournament to become the first WCW Hardcore Champion
– Buff Bagwell defeats Curt Hennig in a Retirement Match
– Scott Hall defeats Booker T to retain the WCW United States and Television Titles
– Goldberg defeats Sid Vicious in an I Quit Match
– Bret Hart defeats Chris Benoit in the final of the World Heavyweight Championship tournament to win the vacant WCW World Title

In 2010, WWE Survivor Series was held in Miami, Florida. The event was supposed to be renamed for this year, but Vince McMahon decided against the change late on (the new name was never revealed) and stuck with Survivor Series

– Daniel Bryan defeats Ted DiBiase to retain the WWE United States Title
– Dolph Ziggler defeats Kaval to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Natalya defeats Lay-Cool (Michelle McCool & Layla) in a Handicap Match to win the WWE Divas Title
– Kane fought Edge to a draw due to a double pinfall (Kane retains the World Heavyweight Title)
– The Nexus (Heath Slater & Justin Gabriel) defeat Santino Marella & Vladimir Kozlov to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Randy Orton defeats Wade Barrett with John Cena as special guest referee. As per the pre-match stipulation, Cena is fired from the WWE for allowing an Orton win

Title Changes

1966 – Joe Blanchard defeats Fritz von Erich to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1969 – The Medics (1 & 2) defeat Karl Karlsson & Tarzan Baxter to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1978 – Tony Garea & Larry Zbyszko defeat The Yukon Lumberjacks (Eric & Pierre) to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

2000 – on Smackdown, Billy Gunn defeats Eddie Guerrero to win the WWF Intercontinental Title


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famer Afa The Wild Samoan (69), 4-time ECW World Champion Shane Douglas (47), former WCW wrestler Jerry Flynn (52), former TNA wrestler Cassidy Riley (35), current WWE Divas The Bella Twins (28) and Dragon Gate star Shingo Takagi (29)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply