This Day In Wrestling History – November 16th

Nov 16, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1994, WCW Clash of the Champions XXIX was held in Jacksonville, Florida

– The Patriot & Marcus Bagwell defeat Paul Roma & Paul Orndorff to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles – Johnny B Badd defeats The Honky Tonk Man by DQ to retain the WCW Television Title – Jim Duggan defeats Steve Austin by DQ to retain the WCW United States Title – Hulk Hogan, Sting & Dave Sullivan defeat The Butcher, Avalanche & Kevin Sullivan in a Six-Man Tag Team Match with Mr T as special guest referee

In 1996, the WWF Hall Of Fame Ceremony is held in New York City. These would be the last inductions until 2004. The class of 96 are:

– Baron Mikel Scicluna – Captain Lou Albano – The Valiant Brothers (Jimmy & Johnny) – Jimmy Snuka – Johnny Rodz – Killer Kowalski – Pat Patterson – Vince McMahon Sr

In 2000, WCW Millennium Final was held in Oberhausen, Germany and was a Germany-only PPV, hence some of the title changes are out of date from those in America and elsewhere

– Ernest Miller defeats Mike Sanders to become the new WCW Commissioner – General Rection defeats Lance Storm by DQ (Storm retains the WCW United States Title) – Alex Wright & General Rection defeat The Natural Born Thrillers (Chuck Palumbo & Sean O’Haire) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles. Back home, WCW would portray this match as if Wright and Disco Inferno had won the titles – Booker T defeats Scott Steiner to retain the WCW World Title – Sting defeats Kevin Nash with Axel Schultz as special guest referee to win the WCW European Cup

In 2003, WWE Survivor Series was held in Dallas, Texas

– On Heat, Tajiri defeats Jamie Noble to retain the WWE Cruiserweight Title – Kurt Angle, Chris Benoit, John Cena, Hardcore Holly & Bradshaw defeat Brock Lesnar, The Big Show, Matt Morgan, Nathan Jones & A-Train in a Survivor Series Match with Cena & Benoit surviving – Molly Holly defeats Lita to retain the WWE Womens Title – Kane defeats Shane McMahon in an Ambulance Match – The Basham Brothers (Doug & Danny) defeat Los Guerreros (Eddie & Chavo) to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles – Team Bischoff (Chris Jericho, Christian, Randy Orton, Scott Steiner & Mark Henry) defeat Team Austin (Shawn Michaels, Rob Van Dam, Booker T, Bubba Ray Dudley & D-Von Dudley) in a Survivor Series Match with Orton as the lone survivor, forcing Austin to resign as co-GM of Raw – Vince McMahon defeats The Undertaker in a Buried Alive Match – Goldberg defeats Triple H to retain the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1955 – King Kong Czaya & Tiger Jokinder defeat Rikidozan & Harold Sakata in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match to become the first JWA All Asia Tag Team Champions

1963 – The Crusher defeats Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1992 – The Sandman defeats Don Muraco to win the NWA-ECW Title

1996 – Jerry Lawler defeats The Colorado Kid to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1998 – on Nitro, Juventud Guerrera defeats Billy Kidman to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2004 – on Smackdown, John Cena defeats Carlito Caribbean Cool to win the WWE United States Title

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply