This Day In Wrestling History – September 20th‏

Sep 20, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1997, WWF One Night Only was held in Birmingham, England. It aired only in Europe and Canada, but was later released on VHS in the US

– The Headbangers (Mosh & Thrasher) defeat Los Boricuas to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Vader defeats Owen Hart
– Bret Hart defeats The Undertaker by DQ to retain the WWF Title
– Shawn Michaels defeats The British Bulldog to win the WWF European Title

In 2009, TNA No Surrender was held in Orlando, Florida

– Taylor Wilde & Sarita defeat The Beautiful People (Velvet Sky & Madison Rayne) to become the first TNA Knockouts Tag Team Champions
– Samoa Joe defeats Christopher Daniels to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– ODB defeats Cody Deaner to win the vacant TNA Knockouts Title
– Kevin Nash defeats Abyss to retain the TNA Legends Title and claim the $50,000 bounty on Abyss from Dr Stevie
– Beer Money Inc (James Storm & Robert Roode) & Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat The Main Event Mafia (Scott Steiner & Booker T) & The British Invasion (Doug Williams & Brutus Magnus) in a Lethal Lockdown Match
– AJ Styles defeats Kurt Angle, Matt Morgan, Sting & Hernandez in a 5-Way Match to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1978 – Jose Lothario defeats Assassin #1 to win the TSW Louisiana Title

1985 – The Von Erichs (Kerry & Kevin) defeat The Dynamic Duo (Gino Hernandez & Chris Adams) to win the vacant WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1989 – Masa Saito & Shinya Hashimoto defeat Riki Choshu & Takayuki Iizuka to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1993 – Shinya Hashimoto defeats The Great Muta to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

1993 – Jerry Lawler defeats Tatanka to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1997 – Devil Masami defeats Zero to win the vacant WCW Womens Title. Also, Sugar Sato defeats Yoshiko Tamura to win the vacant WCW Womens Cruiserweight Title

1997 – The Gangstanators (New Jack & Kronus) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Raw, Mr McMahon vacates the WWF Title. Also, The Rock n Sock Connection (The Rock & Mankind) defeat The Unholy Alliance (The Undertaker & The Big Show) in a Dark Side Rules Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2003 – The Backseat Boyz (Johnny Kashmere & Trent Acid) win a Gauntlet Match to win the vacant ROH Tag Team Titles

2007 – D’Lo Brown & Buchanan win a 4-team Round Robin Tournament to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2008 – Adam Pearce defeats Brent Albright to win the NWA World Title


Happy birthday to 4-time NWA/WCW Television Champion Arn Anderson (53), 2-time AWA Light Heavyweight Champion Mike Graham (60), 5-time WWWF/WWF Tag Team Champion Tony Garea (65), WWE Hall of Famer Greg ‘The Hammer’ Valentine (61), 6-time WWA (FMW) Womens Champion Megumi Kudo (42) and former ECW manager and announcer Joel Gertner (36)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply