Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – September 9th


In 2007, TNA No Surrender was held in Orlando, Florida

– Pacman Jones & Ron Killings defeat Kurt Angle & Sting to win the TNA Tag Team Titles after Angle turned on Sting – Jay Lethal defeats Kurt Angle to win the TNA X-Division Title – Chris Harris defeats Black Reign in a No-DQ Match – Kurt Angle defeats Abyss to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1970 – Waldo von Erich defeats Jack Curtis to win the TSW Mississippi Title

1980 – Harley Race defeats Giant Baba to win the NWA World Title for the 5th time

1980 – The Wild Samoans (Afa & Sika) defeat Tony Garea & Rene Goulet in the final of a tournament to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1980 – The Grappler defeats Ted DiBiase to win the MSW North American Title

1986 – Dusty Rhodes defeats Arn Anderson to win the NWA Television Title

1988 – Shinichi Nakano & Shunji Takano defeat Footloose (Samson Fuyuki & Toshiaki Kawada) to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1993 – Shane Douglas defeats Tito Santana by forfeit to win the NWA-ECW Title

1993 – Doug Furnas & Dan Kroffat defeat The Eagle & The Patriot to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2006 – Naomichi Marufuji defeats Jun Akiyama to win the GHC Heavyweight Title

In Memoriam

The wrestling world has lost two personalities on this day. Firstly, in 1944, 2-time World Heavyweight Champion Gus Sonnerberg died aged 46 of leukemia whilst serving in the Navy, having left wrestling to enlist 4 years previously. Secondly, in 1988, 3-time NWA Light Heavyweight Champion Leroy McGuirk died of natural causes aged 77. McGuirk had been blinded in a car accident in 1950, but retained a high-up position in the NWA until close to his passing

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Did Vince McMahon overact by suspending Titus O’Neil?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Daniel Bryan headline the 2017 WWE hall of fame class?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Tito Santana be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...