This Day In Wrestling History – September 1st‏

Sep 1, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1993 – WCW fully withdraws from the NWA, surrendering the right to use NWA Title belts

2005 – Deep South Wrestling, the new WWE development territory, promotes it’s first show

Title Changes

1958 – Jerry & Eddie Graham defaet Mark Lewin & Don Curtis to win the NWA Northeast United States Tag Team Titles

1979 – Jimmy Snuka defeats Ricky Steamboat in the final of a tournament to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title

1982 – Bill Irwin defeats Al Madril to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1983 – The Rock N Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeat The Midnight Express (Dennis Condrey & Bobby Eaton) to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1986 – Buzz Sawyer & Matt Borne defeat Chris Adams & Lance von Erich in the final of a tournament to become the first WCCW World Tag Team Champions

1987 – Kazuo Yamazaki & Yoshiaki Fujiwara defeat Akira Maeda & Nobuhiko Takada to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1992 – Ric Flair defeats Randy Savage to win the WWF Title

2007 – CM Punk defeats John Morrison in a Last Chance Match to win the ECW Title

2007 – Adam Pearce defeats Brent Albright in the final of a tournament to become the first NWA World Champion since the split with TNA

2009 – on Smackdown, John Morrison defeats Rey Mysterio to win the WWE Intercontinental Title


Happy birthday to one-time WWE Tag Team Champion Jimmy Snuka Jr, also known as Sim Snuka and Deuce (40) and former TNA X-Division, Television and Tag Team Champion Doug Williams (39)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former ECW World and WCW Tag Team Champion Bam Bam Bigelow (50) and 4-time ECW and one-time WCW Tag Team Champion ‘Flyboy’ Rocco Rock (58)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply