Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – August 15th‏


1995 – Keiji Mutoh wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Shinya Hashimoto in the final

1999 – Manabu Nakanishi wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Keiji Mutoh in the final

2004 – Hiroyoshi Tenzan wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi in the final

2010 – Satoshi Kojima wins the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Hiroshi Tanahashi in the final


In 1996, WCW Clash of the Champions XXXIII was held in Denver, Colorado

– Rey Misterio Jr defeats Dean Malenko to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Eddy Guerrero defeats Diamond Dallas Page to win the WCW Battlebowl Trophy
– Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeat Sting & Lex Luger and The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) in a Triangle Match to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Ric Flair defeats Hollywood Hogan by DQ (Hogan retains the WCW World Title)

In 2004, WWE Summerslam was held in Toronto, Canada

– Kane defeats Matt Hardy in a Til Death Do Us Part Match, forcing Lita to marry Kane
– John Cena defeats Booker T in the first match of a Best of 5 series for the WWE United States Title
– Edge defeats Chris Jericho & Batista in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– JBL defeats The Undertaker by DQ to retain the WWE Title
– Randy Orton defeats Chris Benoit to win the World Heavyweight Title

In 2010, WWE Summerslam was held in Los Angeles, California

– Dolph Ziggler fought Kofi Kingston to a no contest due to interference from The Nexus (Ziggler retains the WWE Intercontinental Title)
– Melina defeats Alicia Fox to win the WWE Divas Title
– Randy Orton defeats Sheamus by DQ (Sheamus retains the WWE Title)
– Kane defeats Rey Mysterio to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Team WWE (John Cena, John Morrison, R-Truth, Bret Hart, Edge, Chris Jericho & Daniel Bryan) defeat The Nexus (Wade Barrett, David Otunga, Justin Gabriel, Heath Slater, Darren Young, Skip Sheffield & Michael Tarver) in a 14-Man Tag Team Elimination Match with Cena as the lone survivor

Title Changes

1969 – Ramon & Alberto Torres defeat The Medics (1 & 2) to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1978 – Ernie Ladd defeats Paul Orndorff to win the TSW North American Title

2009 – Mistico defeats Tiger Mask IV to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to TNA announcer Mike Tenay (57)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Does Braun Stowman deserve a push?

Loading ... Loading ...

Does Jacqueline belong in the WWE hall of fame?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Tito Santana be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...