Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – July 29th‏

Title Changes

1967 – the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles are retired. The final champions were Bruno Sammartino & Spiros Arion

1974 – Arman Hussein defeats Bull Ramos to win the TSW North American Title

1977 – Ric Flair defeats Bobo Brazil to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Title

1978 – Paul Orndorff defeats Stan Hansen to win the TSW North American Title

1979 – Bruiser Brody defeats Mark Lewin to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1985 – Brian Adias defeats Gino Hernandez to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1988 – Terry Gordy & Stan Hansen defeat Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1991 – Awesome Kong defeats Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

2002 – on Raw, Chris Benoit defeats Rob Van Dam to win the WWE Intercontinental Title. Also, the WWE Hardcore Title’s 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bradshaw to Johnny Stamboli to Tommy Dreamer

2010 – The TNA Global Title is renamed the TNA Television Title by champion AJ Styles


Happy birthday to former WCW World, US, Tag and Television Champion Scott Steiner and one-time Mexican National Heavyweight Champion Pirata Morgan (both 49)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Is Dean Ambrose a deserving WWE champion?

Loading ... Loading ...

Are you a Baron Corbin fan?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should The Rock 'n' Roll Express be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...