This Day In Wrestling History – July 19th‏

Jul 19, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 2009, TNA Victory Road was held in Orlando, Florida

– Angelina Love defeats Tara to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Abyss defeats Dr Stevie in a No-DQ Match
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat The British Invasion (Brutus Magnus & Doug Williams) to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Jenna Morasca defeats Sharmell
– Kevin Nash defeats AJ Styles in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA Legends Title
– The Main Event Mafia (Booker T & Scott Steiner) defeat Beer Money Inc (Robert Roode & James Storm) to win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Samoa Joe defeats Sting
– Kurt Angle defeats Mick Foley to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1968 – Fritz von Erich & Grizzly Smith defeat The Spoiler & Gary Hart to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1971 – Thunderbolt Patterson & Toru Tanaka defeat Johnny Valentine & Wahoo McDaniel to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1982 – Bill Irwin defeats Brian Adias to win the WCCW Television Title

1990 – The Great Kabuki & Jumbo Tsuruta defeat The Miracle Violence Connection (Terry Gordy & Steve Williams) to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1997 – Yoshiko Tamura defeats Toshie Uematsu to win the WCW Womens Cruiserweight Title

1997 – The Gangstas (New Jack & Mustafa Saed) defeat The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

1998 – Yoshinari Ogawa defeats Satoru Asako in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

2002 – Koji Kanemoto defeats Minoru Tanaka to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

2003 – Kohei Sato & Hirotaka Yokoi defeat Tomoaki Honma & Kazushi Miyamoto in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2010 – Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Taguchi) defeat El Samurai & Koji Kanemoto to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles. Also, Bad Intentions (Karl Anderson & Giant Bernard) defeat Blue Justice Army (Wataru Inoue & Yuji Nagata) & No Limit (Tetsuya Naito & Yujiro Takahashi) in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to tag team legend Robert Gibson (53), one-time GHC Junior Heavyweight Champion Michael Modest (40), former ECW and ROH Tag Team Champion Tony Mamaluke (34), former CMLL Lightweight, Tag and Trios Champion Rey Bucanero (37), 5-time AJPW Unified Tag Team Champion Yoshiaki Yatsu (55) and TNA personality Jeremy Borash (37)

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply