This Day In Wrestling History – July 8th‏

Jul 8, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


In 1985, the first WWF King of the Ring Tournament is held. The tournament is won by Don Muraco

– The only non KoR match on the card sees Hulk Hogan defeat Nikolai Volkoff to retain the WWF Title

Title Changes

1968 – Fritz von Erich defeats Chris Markoff to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1968 – Klondike Bill & Skull Murphy defeat Kintaro Ohki & Michiaki Yoshimura to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1972 – Johnny Valentine defeats Billy Red Lyons to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1988 – Kerry von Erich, Kevin von Erich & Michael Hayes defeat Buddy Roberts, King Parsons & Kamala (subbing for Terry Gordy) to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles. This was the final reign before the titles were abandoned later that year

1991 – Johnny Ace & Kenta Kobashi defeat Doug Furnas & Dan Kroffat to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1996 – on Nitro, Rey Misterio Jr defeats Dean Malenko to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2002 – on Raw, Jeff Hardy defeats William Regal to win the WWE European Title

2006 – Gedo & Jado defeat El Samurai & Ryusuke Taguchi to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2008 – Tiger Mask IV defeats Prince Devitt in the final of a tournament to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WSX and XPW wrestler Luke Hawx, also known as Altar Boy Luke (30)

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply