This Day In Wrestling History – June 4th‏

Jun 4, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


1981 – For the 3rd straight year, Antonio Inoki wins the NJPW MSG League by defeating Stan Hansen in the final

2001 – Jushin Liger wins the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, defeating Minoru Tanaka in the final

2004 – TNA Impact begins airing on Fox Sports

Title Changes

1962 – Buddy Austin & Mike Sharpe defeat Rikidozan & Toyonobori to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1981 – Kerry von Erich defeats Ernie Ladd to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1986 – Kerry von Erich is injured in a motorcycle accident, so passes his share of the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles to his brother Mike

1999 – NO FEAR (Takao Omori & Yoshihiro Takayama) defeat Hayabusa & Jinsei Shinzaki to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2002 – on Smackdown, Billy & Chuck defeat Rico & Rikishi in an Elimination Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles. Billy Gunn becomes the first 10-time WWF/E Tag Team Champion

2006 – Takashi Sugiura defeats KENTA to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title. Also, Tamon Honda & Kenta Kobashi defeat Takeshi Morishima & Mohammed Yone to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2007 – on Raw, Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch defeat The Hardys (Matt & Jeff) to win the World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 2-time AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion Joe Malenko (56) and former ECW ‘Triple Crown’ Champion Mikey Whipwreck (38)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply