Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – May 16th‏


There have been 4 major events on this day

In 1999, WWF No Mercy was a UK-exclusive PPV. It was held in Manchester, England

– The Ministry Of Darkness (Viscera, Faarooq & Bradshaw) defeats The Brood (Gangrel, Edge & Christian)
– Nicole Bass defeats Tori
– Shane McMahon defeats X-Pac to retain the WWF European Title
– Mr Ass defeats Mankind
– Steve Austin defeats The Undertaker & Triple H in an Anything Goes Triangle Match to retain the WWF Title

Also in 1999, ECW Hardcore Heaven was held in Poughskeepie, New York

– Taz defeats Chris Candido to retain the ECW World Title
– The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) defeat Balls Mahoney & Spike Dudley to retain the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Rob Van Dam defeats Jerry Lynn in a No Time Limit Match to retain the ECW Television Title
– Sid Vicious fought Justin Credible to a no contest
– Taz defeats Buh Buh Ray Dudley in a Falls Count Anywhere Match to retain the ECW World Title

In 2004, WWE Judgment Day was a Smackdown-exclusive PPV. It was held in Los Angeles, California

– Mordecai defeats Scotty 2 Hotty
– Charlie Haas & Rico defeat Hardcore Holly & Billy Gunn to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Chavo Guerrero defeats Jacqueline to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– John Cena defeats Rene Dupree to retain the WWE United States Title
– The Undertaker defeats Booker T
– John Bradshaw Layfield defeats Eddie Guerrero by DQ (Guerrero retains the WWE Title)

In 2010, TNA Sacrifice was held in Orlando, Florida

– Rob Terry defeats Orlando Jordan to retain the TNA Global Title
– Douglas Williams defeats Kazarian to win the TNA X-Division Title
– Madison Rayne defeats Tara in a Title vs Career Match to retain the TNA Knockouts Title (Tara is forced to retire)
– The Band (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) defeat Ink Inc. (Shannon Moore & Jesse Neal) to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Abyss defeats Desmond Wolfe in a Chelsea vs Ring Match to win the services of Wolfe’s manager Chelsea for 30 days. Had Wolfe won, he would have won Hulk Hogan’s Hall of Fame ring
– Rob Van Dam defeats AJ Styles to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1963 – Skull Murphy & Brute Bernard defeat Buddy Austin & Great Scott to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles

1963 – Bull Curry defeats Jack Dalton 1st to win the vacant Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1964 – Verne Gagne defeats Mad Dog Vachon to win the AWA World Title

1967 – Chati Yokouchi & Togo Shikuma defeat Gorgeous George Jr & Jack Brisco to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1981 – Eddie Gilbert & Ricky Morton defeat Jerry Brown & Ron McFarlane to win the TSW Tag Team Titles

1987 – The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) defeat Ron Garvin & Barry Windham in the final of a tournament to win the vacant NWA United States Tag Team Titles

2000 – on Smackdown, Gerald Brisco defeats Crash Holly to win the WWF Hardcore Title


Happy birthday to former Freebird Buddy Roberts (66), WWE Hall of Famer Johnny Rodz (73), former WWF Intercontinental Champion Charles ‘The Godfather’ Wright (50), former TNA wrestler Cody Deaner (30) and the Queen of the Deathmatch Mickie Knuckles (27)

In Memoriam

On this day in 2002, the wrestling world lost former ECW star and XPW World Champion Alex ‘Big Dick Dudley’ Rizzo aged just 34. Rizzo was found dead in his apartment of apparent kidney failure

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply



Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - West regional finals

Loading ... Loading ...

Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - Round 3 (North bracket)

Total Voters: 517

Loading ... Loading ...

Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - Round 3 (South bracket)

  • (5) Awesome Kong (58%, 418 Votes)
  • (1) June Byers (42%, 309 Votes)

Total Voters: 726

Loading ... Loading ...