Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – May 8th

Title Changes

1970 – The Hollywood Blondes (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) win a tournament to win the vacant TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1974 – Jimmy & Johnny Valiant defeat Tony Garea & Dean Ho to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1985 – The Snowman wins a tournament to win the vacant MSW Television Title

1988 – Tatsumi Fujinami defeats Big Van Vader to win the vacant IWGP Heavyweight Title

1988 – Kerry von Erich defeats King Parsons to win the WCCW World Heavyweight Title

1993 – Wolfie D defeats Danny Davis to win the USWA Middleweight Title

2000 – on Raw, Chris Benoit defeats Chris Jericho to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2007 – on Smackdown, Edge cashes in his Money In The Bank and defeats The Undertaker to win the World Heavyweight Title

2010 – El Samurai & Koji Kanemoto defeat Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Takaguchi) in the final of a tournament to win the vacant IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former sumo wrestler and AJPW Tag Team Champion Akebono (42) and NOAH President Akira Taue (50)

Post Category: News

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply



Would you like to see a Women's Money In The Bank Match?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should WWE have given Cody Rhodes a run as WWE champion?

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Joey Styles be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...