Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – May 2nd

Title Changes

1964 – Mad Dog Vachon defeats Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1964 – Mike Clancy & Al Lovelock defeat Karol Krauser & Stan Pulaski to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1969 – Johnny Valentine defeats Fritz von Erich to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1977 – Stan Hansen defeats Dick Murdoch to win the TSW North American Title

1980 – Terry Gordy defeats Junkyard Dog to win the MSW Louisiana Title

1983 – The Rock n Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeat The Midnight Express (Dennis Condrey & Bobby Eaton) to win the MSW Tag Team Titles

1984 – Terry Taylor defeats Krusher Krushchev in the final of a tournament. However, the dazed referee hands the MSW Television Title to Khrushchev instead

1987 – Curt Hennig defeats Nick Bockwinkel to win the AWA World Title. The title was briefly held up after the match, but was soon returned to Hennig

1994 – Larry Zybszko defeats Lord Steven Regal to win the WCW Television Title

1996 – Dean Malenko defeats Shinjiro Otani to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

1998 – Chris Benoit defeats Booker T to win the WCW Television Title

1999 – Mitsuharu Misawa defeats Vader to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title

2000 – on Smackdown, Chris Jericho defeats Chris Benoit to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2002 – The WWF Hardcore Title 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Steven Richards to Shawn Stasiak, to Justin Credible, to Crash Holly, to Richards, to Stasiak and back to Richards

2002 – Jushin Liger & Minoru Tanaka defeat Gedo & Jado to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2003 – Yoshihiro Takayama defeats Yuji Nagata to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

2007 – Dick Togo & Taka Michinoku defeat Gedo & Jado to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2010 – Minoru Suzuki defeats Ryota Hama to win the AJPW Triple Crown Title


Happy birthday to The Most Electrifying Man In Sports Entertainment The Rock (39), former WWE talent Chris Cage also known as Caylen Croft (31) and Japanese deathmatch legend Mr Pogo (60)

Post Category: News

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response

  1. CMBurnham says:

    My records show that today is also the birthday of Randy Colley, who has gone by many names in this business. He’s probably most famous as Moondog Rex, but also worked as the Masked Nightmare in the Mid-South territory. After winning the North American Title, he changed his name to the Masked Champion. He was Smash in Demolition, but was replaced by Barry Darsow because he was recognised as Moondog Rex too easily. And in the early ’90s, he was one of the Desperados as Dead Eye Dick.

Leave a Reply



Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - Final Four

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Is Wrestlemania 31 the best WrestleMania of all time?

Loading ... Loading ...

Grade Wrestlemanai 31

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...