This Day In Wrestling History – March 21st‏

Mar 20, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2001 – The final WCW Thunder airs on TBS


Many events today, so bear with me!

In 1991, the first WCW/New Japan Supershow was held in Tokyo, Japan. This was the first show of its kind, cross-promoting an American and a Japanese promotion. It didn’t air until April

– Jushin Liger defeats Akira Nogami to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– The Steiner Brothers defeat Hiroshi Hase & Kensuke Sasaki to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– The Great Muta defeats Sting
– Tatsumi Fujinami defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title. Flair retained the WCW Title, as New Japan considered them separate entities, despite WCW considering them the same championship at the time

In 1997, the WWF Slammy Awards Show was held in Chicago, Illinois

– Rocky Maivia wins the New Sensation Award
– Shawn Michaels vs Bret Hart from Wrestlemania XII wins Match of the Year
– The Undertaker wins Best Entrance Music
– Shawn Michaels’ Sweet Chin Music wins Best Finisher
– Goldust & Marlena win Best Couple
– Steve Austin wins the Freedom of Speech Award
– The Undertaker wins Superstar of the Year
– Arnold Skaaland wins the Lifetime Achievement Award
– Sable is Miss Slammy

In 1999, ECW Living Dangerously was held in Asbury Park, New Jersey

– Rob Van Dam defeats Jerry Lynn to retain the ECW Television Title
– New Jack defeats Mustafa
– Tommy Dreamer & Shane Douglas defeat The Impact Players
– Taz defeats Sabu in a Title vs Title Match to win the FTW Title and retain the ECW World Title

In 2010, TNA Destination X was held in Orlando, Florida

– Kazarian defeats Daniels, Amazing Red & Brian Kendrick in a 4-Way Ladder Match
– Tara defeats Daffney to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Rob Terry defeats Magnus to retain the TNA Global Title
– Scott Hall & Syxx-Pac defeat Eric Young & Kevin Nash to win TNA contracts
– Doug Williams defeats Shannon Moore to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Matt Morgan & Hernandez defeat Beer Money Inc to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– AJ Styles fought Abyss to a no contest when Styles was chokeslammed through the ring. Styles retains the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1984 – Harley Race defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply