Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – March 16th


In 1997, WCW Uncensored was held in North Charleston, South Carolina

– Dean Malenko defeats Eddy Guerrero to win the WCW United States Title
– Buff Bagwell defeats Scotty Riggs in a Strap Match
– Prince Iaukea defeats Rey Misterio Jr to retain the WCW Television Title
– Team nWo (Kevin Nash, Scott Hall, Hollywood Hogan & Randy Savage) defeat Team Piper (Roddy Piper, Chris Benoit, Steve McMichael & Jeff Jarrett) & Team WCW (Lex Luger, The Giant, & Scott Steiner) in a Triangle Elimination Match with Hogan as the lone survivor. Team WCW was supposed to include Rick Steiner, but he was attacked before the match

Title Changes

1985 – Dusty Rhodes defeats Tully Blanchard to win the NWA Television Title

1989 – Hiroshi Hase defeats Shiro Koshinaka to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1994 – Hiroshi Hase defeats Rick Rude to win the WCW International World Title

1998 – on Raw, Triple H defeats Owen Hart to win the WWF European Title


Happy birthday to former WWF Tag Team Champion Henry Godwinn (47), former WWE Tag Team Champion Ken Doane (25) and current WWE Developmental talent Brett DiBiase (23)

In Memoriam

Today in 2008, the wrestling world lost former WCCW booker and legendary manager ‘Playboy’ Gary Hart at the age of 66. Hart is credited with ushering in the ‘golden years’ of WCCW. He died of a heart attack at his home in Euless, Texas

Post Category: News


One Response

  1. Several additional title changes for today:

    1970 Karl Kox & The Great Malenko def. Wahoo McDaniel & Antonio Pugliese for the NWA Texas Tag Team Title

    1977 Bob Sweetan & Tony Rocco def. Skandar Akbar & Choi Sun for the TSW United States Tag Team Title

    1986 Buzz Sawyer became the UWF Television Champion

    1986 The Sheepherders (Luke Williams & Butch Miller) def. Ted DiBiase & Steve Williams for the UWF Tag Team Title

    1986 Jim Duggan def. Buzz Sawyer (subbing for Dick Slater) for the MSW North American Heavyweight Title

    Also, Happy Birthday to former WWF Ring Announcer Mike McGuirk.

Leave a Reply



Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - Round 3 (North bracket)

Loading ... Loading ...

Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - Round 3 (South bracket)

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Should Chyna be inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame?

Loading ... Loading ...