Pro Wrestling Since 1997


This Day In Wrestling History – February 20th


There have been no less than 4 major events on this day!

In 1989, NWA Chi-Town Rumble was held in Chicago, Illinois

– The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) defeat The Original Midnight Express (Jack Victory & Randy Rose) in a Loser Leaves NWA Match
– Mike Rotunda defeats Rick Steiner to win the NWA Television Title
– Lex Luger defeats Barry Windham to win the NWA United States Title
– The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) defeat The Varsity Club (Steve Williams & Kevin Sullivan) to retain the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– Ricky Steamboat defeats Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

In 1994, WCW SuperBrawl IV was held in Albany, Georgia

– Lord Steven Regal defeats Arn Anderson to retain the WCW Television Title
– Cactus Jack & Maxx Payne defeat The Nasty Boys (Brian Knobbs & Jerry Sags) by DQ (Nasty Boys retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles)
– Sting, Brian Pillman & Dustin Rhodes defeat Steve Austin, Rick Rude & Paul Orndorff in a Thundercage Match
– Ric Flair defeats Big Van Vader in a Thundercage Match with The Boss as special guest referee to retain the WCW World Title

In 2000, WCW held the 10th annual SuperBrawl PPV, titled SuperBrawl 2000, in San Francisco, California

– The Artist Formerly Known As Prince Iaukea defeats Lash LeRoux to win the vacant WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Brian Knobbs defeats Bam Bam Bigelow to win the WCW Hardcore Title
– The Mamalukes (Big Vito & Johnny The Bull) defeat David Flair & Crowbar in a Sicialian Stretcher Match to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Ric Flair defeats Terry Funk in a Texas Death Match
– Hulk Hogan defeats The Total Package
– Sid Vicious defeats Scott Hall & Jeff Jarrett in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 2005, WWE No Way Out was a Smackdown-exclusive event, held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

– Eddie Guerrero & Rey Mysterio defeat The Basham Brothers (Doug & Danny) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Chavo Guerrero defeats Paul London, Funaki, Spike Dudley, Shannon Moore & Akio in a Cruiserweight Open to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– JBL defeats The Big Show in a Barbed Wire Cage Match to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1978 – Bob Backlund defeats Billy Graham to win the WWWF Title

2005 – Satoshi Kojima defeats Hiroyoshi Tenzan to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

2006 – on Raw, Shelton Benjamin defeats Ric Flair to win the WWE Intercontinental Title


Happy birthday to former WWE and TNA Womens Champion Gail Kim (34), WWE Hall of Famer and founder of New JapanAntonio Inoki (68) and Japanese tag team legend Gedo (42)

Post Category: News


3 Responses

  1. Some additional title changes:

    1959 Ivan the Terrible def. Angelo Savoldi for the NWA World Junior Heavyweight Title

    1973 The Hollywood Blondes (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) def. Dennis Stamp & Bull Bullinski for the TSW United States Tag Team Title

    1984 Kelly Kiniski def. King Parsons for the WCCW Television Title

    1986 Rick Rude became the WCCW World Champion when WCCW withdrew from the NWA. Rude was already the NWA American Champion and thus became the 1st WCCW World Champion (for those who consider this a world title).

  2. Kerry says:

    – The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) defeat The Original Midnight Express (Jack Victory & Randy Rose) in a Loser Leaves NWA Match

    Jack Victory? Where was Dennis Condry?

  3. Jamie says:

    Condrey had left the NWA not long before the PPV. I think it was a case of panic booking rather than clever re-booking, though to be fair, I don’t know how much time they had exactly

Leave a Reply



Greatest Female Wrestler tournament - East regional finals

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Grade Wrestlemanai 31

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Best match at Wrestlemania 31?

Vote View Results

Loading ... Loading ...