This Day In Wrestling History – February 15th

Feb 15, 2011 - by Jamie Cruickshank



In 1989, NWA Clash of the Champions V: St Valentines Day Massacre was held in Cleveland, Ohio

– Mike Rotunda & ‘Dr Death’ Steve Williams defeat The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) to retain the NWA United States Tag Team Titles
– The Road Warriors & Genichiro Tenryu fought Mike Rotunda, Kevin Sullivan & ‘Dr Death’ Steve Williams to a double DQ due to mass outside interference to retain the NWA World Six-Man Tag Team Titles

Also on this day, there were no fewer than 3 WWF/E No Way Out events!

In 1998, the first event in the series, No Way Out Of Texas was held in Houston, Texas

– Taka Michinoku defeats Pantera to retain the WWF Light Heavyweight Title
– Justin Bradshaw defeats Jeff Jarrett by DQ (Jarrett retains the NWA North American Title)
– Kane defeats Vader
– Steve Austin, Owen Hart, Cactus Jack & Chainsaw Charlie defeat Triple H, Savio Vega & The New Age Outlaws in a Non-Sanctioned 8-Man Tag Team Match

In 2004, No Way Out was a Smackdown-exclusive event, held in Daly City, California

– Rikishi & Scotty 2 Hotty defeat The Basham Brothers & Shaniqua in a Handicap Match to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Jamie Noble defeats Nidia in a Blindfold Match
– Chavo Guerrero defeats Rey Mysterio to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– Eddie Guerrero defeats Brock Lesnar to win the WWE Title

2009 saw the final No Way Out PPV after an 11-year run held in Seattle, Washington. Fittingly, it was held on the same day as the first had been

– Triple H defeats Edge, The Undertaker, The Big Show, Jeff Hardy & Vladimir Kozlov in an Elimination Chamber Match to win the WWE Title
– Randy Orton defeats Shane McMahon in a No Holds Barred Match
– Jack Swagger defeats Finlay to retain the ECW Title
– Edge defeats John Cena, Rey Mysterio, Chris Jericho, Mike Knox & Kane in an Elimination Chamber Match to win the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1971 – Bobo Brazil is awarded the vacant WWWF United States Title. This was the final reign, as the belt was abandoned in March 1976, though it had not been defended for quite some time before that

1977 – Rufus R Jones defeats Greg Valentine to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic Television Title. The title becomes the NWA Television Title during this reign

1989 – Ted DiBiase awards himself the Million Dollar Championship

1999 – on Raw, The Rock defeats Mankind in a Ladder Match to win the WWF Title. Also, Shane McMahon & Kane defeat Triple H & X-Pac (McMahon pins X-Pac to win the WWF European Title)

2004 – Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeats Genichiro Tenryu in the final of a tournament to win the vacant IWGP Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to ROH regular Larry Sweeney (29), female indy star LuFisto (31), 2-time Chickfight winner and Japanese star Mariko Yoshida (41) and WWE Spanish announcer Hugo Savinovich (52)

In Memoriam

Today the wrestling world lost Louie Spicolli. He was only 27. Spicolli had given up drugs, but news of his mother contracting cancer led to a relapse and he died of an accidental overdose.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply